In Gold We Trust report 2017

We live in an age of advanced monetary surrealism. In Q1 2017 alone, the largest central banks created the equivalent of almost USD 1,000 bn. worth of central bank money ex nihilo. Naturally the fresh currency was not used to fund philanthropic projects but to purchase financial securities1. Although this ongoing liquidity supernova has temporarily created an uneasy calm in financial markets, we are strongly convinced that the real costs of this monetary madness will reveal themselves down the line.

icons8-active-directory-80 (1)

Extensive

Detailed study on gold and gold-relevant capital market developments.
icons8-financial-growth-analysis-80 (1)

Critical

Critical consideration of all relevant events.
icons8-globe-80 (1)

Global

Recognized in more than 60 nations.

From the content

We believe that the monetary tsunami created in the past years, consisting of a flood of central bank money and new debt, has created a dangerous illusion: the illusion of a carefree present at the expense of a fragile future. The frivolity displayed by many investors is for example reflected by record-low volatility in equities, which have acquired the nimbus of being without alternative, and is also highlighted by the minimal spreads on corporate and government bonds. Almost a decade of zero and negative interest rates has atomised any form of risk aversion.

While the quantitative easing programmes are still going at full throttle in many places without the media paying much attention, the situation in the USA looks decidedly different: seven years after the Fed funds rate had been set to zero, the first interest rate hike by the Federal Reserve in December 2015 marked the end of the longest period of immobility in terms of interest rate policy in history. To many market participants, this overdue step towards normalising the monetary policy is the confirmation of the much-desired comeback of the US economy.

However, the interest rate reversal that had been announced for years got off to a sluggish start. Market participants became increasingly nervous in 2016 when it started turning out that central banks would not be remotely able to stick to the speed of four interest rate hikes as announced. After the FOMC meeting in March 2016, the first question that CNBC journalist Steve Liesman asked Janet Yellen was: “Does the Fed have a credibility problem […]?”

We believe that the absence of the often-quoted sustainable economic recovery is one factor to blame for the passivity of the Fed. The depreciation of the Chinese currency and the still falling yields at the long end of the yield curve in 2016 are two others, as a result of which the Fed had to procrastinate until December 2016.

The gold price celebrated a remarkable comeback during this hesitant phase of the Fed. Last year we confidently opened the “In Gold We Trust” report with the line “Gold is back!”. We had anticipated the passivity of the Fed as well as the return of the bull market. The gold price seemed to have experienced a sustainable trend reversal in USD, and we felt our bullish stance had just been confirmed.

But our gold(en) optimism was stopped in its tracks again in autumn 2016. The gold price declined significantly, in particular in the last quarter of 2016, even though the maximum drawdown has never exceeded 20%. We can therefore still call the status quo a correction within the confines of a new bull market, but we want to openly admit that we had not foreseen the dent in the gold price performance. Unfortunately, our target price of USD 2,300 for June 2018 may therefore prove overly optimistic.

But what was the trigger of the sudden reverse thrust of the gold price?

 

SUBSCRIBE TO THE In Gold We Trust report

To receive the annual In Gold We Trust report and Chartbook with related charts, subscribe to our In Gold We Trust Newsletter. Additionally feel free to subscribe to more interesting Newsletter like the Incrementum Research here.

In Gold we Trust 2017

Wir leben in einem Zeitalter eines fortgeschrit-tenen monetären Surrealismus. Allein im 1. Quartal 2017 wurden seitens der größten Noten-banken 1.000 Milliarden USD an Zentralbankgeld ex nihilo geschaffen. Die geschöpften Gelder wurde freilich nicht karitativ eingesetzt, sondern wurden für den Aufkauf von Finanztiteln verwendet. Obwohl die global anhaltende „liquidity supernova“ derzeit weiterhin für „angespannte Ruhe“ an den Finanzmärkten sorgt, sind wir der festen Überzeugung, dass sich die wahren Kosten dieses monetären Wahnsinns noch offenbaren werden.

icon_book

Umfangreich

Detaillierte Studie über Gold und goldrelevante Kapitalmarktent-wicklungen.
icon_magnify

Kritisch

Kritische Auseinandersetzungen und Betrachtung aller relevanten Geschehnisse.
icon_world

Weltweit

Anerkannt in mehr als 60 Nationen.

Aus dem Inhalt

Der in den vergangenen Jahren geschaffene monetäre Tsunami, bestehend aus einer Schwemme von Zentralbankgeldern und einer Sintflut an neuen Schulden,
hat unserer Meinung nach eine gefährliche Illusion erschaffen: die Illusion einer sorglosen Gegenwart auf Kosten einer fragilen Zukunft. Die kollektive Leichtsinnigkeit seitens der Investoren spiegelt sich zum Beispiel in den rekordverdächtig niedrigen Volatilitäten der als alternativlos geltenden Aktien wider und macht sich bei minimalen Risikoaufschlägen von Unternehmens- und Staatsanleihen bemerkbar. Ein knappes Jahrzehnt von Null- und Negativzinspolitik hat sämtliche Risikoprämien atomisiert.

Während die Quantitative Easing-Programme vielerorts weiter auf Hochtouren laufen, sieht die Situation in den USA freilich anders aus: Sieben Jahre nachdem der Tagesgeldsatz auf null gesenkt worden war, markierte der erste Zinsschritt der Federal Reserve im Dezember 2015 das Ende der längsten Phase zinspolitischer Erstarrung. Die eingeleitete Normalisierung der Geldpolitik ist für viele Börsianer die ersehnte Bestätigung für die finale Genesung der US-Wirtschaft.

Doch die jahrelang angekündigte Zinswende lief zunächst schleppend an. Die Marktteilnehmer wurden im Laufe des Jahres 2016 zunehmend nervös, als klar wurde, dass die Zentralbank nicht annähernd in der Lage war, das angekündigte Tempo von vier Zinserhöhungen einzuhalten. Im Anschluss an die FOMC-Sitzung im März 2016 lautete die erste Frage, die der CNBC-Journalist Steve Liesman an Janet Yellen stellte: „Does the Fed have a credibility problem […]?“

Mitschuld an der Untätigkeit der Federal Reserve war unserer Meinung nach das Ausbleiben des vielzitierten selbsttragenden Aufschwungs. Abwertungen der chinesischen Währung sowie weiterhin fallende Renditen am langen Ende der Zinskurve im Jahre 2016 taten ihr Übriges und die FED musste den nächsten Zinsschritt bis Dezember 2016 verschieben.

Der Goldpreis hat im Zuge dieser zögerlichen Phase der Fed ein fulminantes Comeback gefeiert. Letztes Jahr eröffneten wir den „In Gold we Trust“-Report mit dem Satz: „Gold ist zurück!“ Wir hatten die Untätigkeit der Fed erwartet und die Wiederkehr des Bullenmarktes antizipiert. Eine nachhaltige Trendwende des Goldpreises schien vollzogen und wir sahen uns in unserer bullishen Haltung bestätigt.

Doch die Zuversicht ins gelbe Metall wurde im Herbst 2016 erneut gebremst. Vor allem im letzten Quartal 2016 hatte der Goldpreis deutlich Federn lassen müssen. Auch wenn der maximale Drawdown des Goldpreises in US-Dollar seither zu keinem Zeitpunkt 20% betrug und man daher weiterhin von einer Korrektur im neuen Bullenmarkt sprechen kann, wollen wir offen aussprechen, dass wir den Dämpfer der Goldpreisentwicklung nicht vorhergesehen hatten. Unser Preisziel von 2.300 USD für Juni 2018 wird von daher voraussichtlich zu optimistisch sein.

Doch was war der Auslöser für diese plötzliche Schubumkehr beim Goldpreis?

ERHALTEN SIE DEN IN GOLD WE TRUST REPORT 2018 UND WEITERE UPDATES

Erhalten Sie die Langversion (Extended Version) des Goldreport 2018 sowie das Chartbook mit den zugehörigen Grafiken und Diagrammen indem Sie sich für unseren InGoldWeTrust Newsletter anmelden. Weitere interessante Newsletter wie den Incrementum Research Newsletter können Sie hier abonnieren.